Atumashi Kyaung (အတုမရှိကျောင်း)
Burmese. ‘Inimitable School’ or
‘Unique School’. Name of a
Shwenandaw Kyaung (fig.),
at the foot of Mandalay Hill (fig.).
It is in English usually referred to as Atumashi Monastery (fig.). It was built in 1857 AD by
and featuring five terraced roofs surrounded by small spires.
In 1890 AD, the monastery burned down in a city fire. Besides
destroying the building, complete sets of the
as well as the
the fire also caused a large diamond that adorned the
Buddha image to disappear. In 1996, the monastery was
Burma's Archaeological Department
using prison labour. Also known as
Maha Atulawaiyan Kyaungdawgyi,
which freely translates as
Supreme Monastery School’.