A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z




Surat Thani (สุราษฎร์ธานี)

Thai. ‘City of Good People’ or ‘City of Good Citizens’. Name of the largest of the southern provinces, located on the western shore of the Gulf of Thailand and on the east coast of the Thai peninsula, 644 kms from Bangkok. As with all Thai provinces, the name derives from its capital city (map), and it was given to the city by King Rama VI. The province has many places of interest including Chaiya, one of the oldest cities in Thailand, Khao Than quarry (fig.), the islands off the coast including Koh Pha Ngan (map - fig.) and the nearby Koh Tao (map - fig.), Koh Samui (map - fig.) with its famous Hin Ta and Hin Yai rock formations (fig.) and Na Meuang waterfall (fig.), and the archipelago of Moo Koh Angthong (fig.), a national marine park. It has one of the nation's most interesting national parks situated around an artificial lake formed by the Ratchaprapha Dam (map - fig.), Khlong Sok (map - fig.), and Khao Sok National Park with the Chiaw Lan Reservoir (map - fig.) and its rafthouse accommodations and ranger stations (map - fig.), as well as one of the few places in Thailand where the large Rafflesia flower can be found (fig.) and home to Tham Nahm Thalu (ถ้ำน้ำทะลุ), i.e. a tunnel-cave (map - fig.), Coral Cave (map - fig.), and several waterfalls. The province has eighteen amphur and one king amphur. See also Surat Thani data file.